Minutes from January 17, 2017 Member Only Board Meting-Annual Meeting

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

 Member Only Board of Directors Meeting-Annual Meeting

 San Bernardino Community College District
114 S. Del Rosa Drive
San Bernardino, CA 92408



Present: Deborah Barmack, Peter Barmack, Carole Beswick, Tom Brickley, Mike Burrows, Ken Coate, Jennifer Cusack, Ashley Gaines, Louis Goodwin, Scott Hofferber, Mark Kaenel, Al Karnig, Lowell King, Bill Lemann, PT McEwen, John Mirau, Dan Murphy, Cid Pinedo, Brian Reider, Michael Rivera, Elizabeth Romero, Kristine Scott, Paul Shimoff, Hassan Webb and Ray Wolfe.

Announcements:  1) A reminder that the Strategic Planning Retreat will be held on Saturday, January 21, 2016 from 8:00a.m.-noon at the Redlands Country Club. The option to play golf at the conclusion of the meeting is offered. 2) The reservation form for the 2017 advocacy trip to D.C. was distributed and will be e-mailed to the membership today.  Members are encouraged to book their own flights as pricing and scheduling are varied. 3) The Annual IEEP Dinner honored many in the community and was well attended by Inland Action members. 4) Members are reminded that we will not meet next Tuesday but will have a joint meeting with The Monday Morning Group on Wednesday, January 25th from 7:00 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. in the Renaissance Salon at the Mission Inn, Riverside. 5) Appreciation was expressed by the group to Mark Kaenel for his outstanding service as Chairman for the past three years.

M/S/P: Minutes from January 10, 2017.

Chairman Mark Kaenel presiding.

Mark Kaenel presented and summarized the 2016 year end financials.
M/S/P:  The 2016 year end financials approved as submitted.

Mark Kaenel presented and summarized the proposed 2017 budget. He discussed and compared the prior year’s budget and actual expenditure.  Group discussion ensued.
M/S/P: The 2017 Budget as presented.

John Mirau, Membership Committee introduced the 2017 Slate of Officers.
Chairman:  Kristine Scott
First Vice Chairman:  Louis Goodwin
Second Vice Chairman:  Lowell King
Secretary:  Ken Coate
Treasurer:  Scott Hofferber
Past Chairman:  Mark Kaenel
M/S/P: The 2017 Slate of Officers approved as presented

John Mirau made the first announcement of proposed member Inland Empire Health Plan (IEHP). Bradley P. Gilbert, MD, MPP, IEHP Chief Executive Officer would serve as the Member and Victoria Ostermann, IEHP Government Affairs Director would serve as the Alternate.  IEHP is a not-for-profit Medi-Cal and Medicare health plan, with a provider network of over 5,000 providers and more than 1,800 employees. IEHP serves over 1.2 million residents of the Riverside and San Bernardino counties who are enrolled in Medi-Cal or Cal MediConnect (Medicare).  For more information go to their web site: https://ww3.iehp.org/

Mark Kaenel, Chairman summarized the 2016 Annual Report. Appreciation was expressed to staff,  Committee Chairs and members for their participation and diligent work over the past year.  The Inland Action priorities and highlights of the advocacy trips were discussed.

The annual Conflict of Interest Policy requirements were reviewed by John Mirau. The written policy, and the questionnaire were distributed to the members present.  Members were asked to complete the questionnaire and return it to the Inland Action office as soon as possible but no later than February 1, 2017.  The policy and questionnaire will be sent electronically to those Members not in attendance.  Conflict of Interest Questionnaire 10.09    Conflict of Interest Policy 10.09[1]

Inland Action members present reviewed the proposed Mentor Program Policy. Discussion ensued and the policy was corrected that the Chairman will assign the mentor to a new member/alternate.  2017 Mentor Program Policy (3)
M/S/P: Inland Action Mentor Program Policy.

Louis Goodwin, First Vice Chair will oversee the Inland Action Committees as per the by-laws. Louis discussed committee work and a suggested timeline for advocacy in Washington, D.C.  He will distribute an informational packet to each of the Committee Chairs.

Meeting adjourned at 8:30 a.m.