January 17, 2023 Minutes-Annual Meeting Hybrid Meeting In-Person and via ZOOM

Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Primary and Alternate Representatives Only
Hybrid Meeting In-Person & Zoom


Present:  Megan Barajas, Deborah Barmack, Peter Barmack, Carole Beswick, Greg Bradbard, Mike Burrows, Ken Coate, Kevin Dyerly, Rebeccah Goldware, Louis Goodwin, Otis Greer, Milford Harrison, Fran Inman, Mark Kaenel, Lena Kent, Lowell King, Steve Lambert, Bill Lemann, Darcy McNaboe, Miguel Mendoza, Jacquelyn Mercado, John Mirau, Dan Murphy, Vikki Ostermann, Bansree Parikh, Catherine Pritchett, Thomas Rice, Michael Rivera, Dan Roberts, Elizabeth Romero, Dan Schenkel, Kristine Scott, Eric Ustation, Pete Van Helden, Reggie Webb, Michael Wells, Ray Wolfe, and Frank Zabaleta.

Announcements:  1) There will be three vacancies at year end for the San Bernardino County Transportation Authority’s (SBCTA) Independent Taxpayer Oversight Committee (ITOC).  Applications and further information can be found at https://www.gosbcta.com/independent-taxpayer-oversight-committee-vacancies/ 2) During the holiday break a few Inland Action members and others met with Asssemblyman Ramos regarding advancing a relationship with the Governor’s Office.  Specific concerns included the Public Health Emergency/Warehouse Rule and the prospect of further legislation in this arena.  A draft of their white paper is expected this week.  A small group will be identified to meet with the Governor’s Staff in early February.

Lowell King, Chair presiding.

Motion by K Scott/Second/Passed: Minutes from January 10, 2023.

Vote on proposed new member Mexican American Opportunity Foundation, Dr. Cid Pinedo serving as Primary Representative.
Approved via live ballot and Zoom polling with 2 abstentions.

The year-end financials were presented by Mark Kaenel, Treasurer.  The 2022 P & L Budget vs Actual was summarized. The year-end Balance Sheet shows that there are no operating liabilities, and the cash balance is very strong with a good deal of liquidity.

Members were asked via e-mail on January 16, 2022, to review the proposed budget on the Inland Action web site.  The proposed 2023 budget was summarized by Mark Kaenel, Treasurer.  The budget reflects a minimal increase of 1% in membership dues as the group will be returning to trips to Washington, D.C. and Sacramento and it includes staff increases as recommended by the Personnel Committee.
Motion by R. Wolfe/Second/Passed: The 2023 Inland Action Budget as presented.

President Deborah Barmack discussed the annual Conflict of Interest Policy requirements.  The written policy, and questionnaire(s) were distributed via e-mail on Monday, January 11, 2023.  Members were asked to complete the questionnaire and return it to Inland Action staff office as soon as possible but no later than February 1st, 2022.

Chair Lowell King summarized the Annual Report.  Members were encouraged to read the full report which is on the Inland Action web site.  Appreciation was expressed to Staff, Committee Chairs and Committee members for their time and efforts over the last year.

The following slate of Officers and Executive Committee for 2023 was presented:
Chair -Kevin Dyerly
1st Vice Chair -Michael Rivera
2nd Vice Chair -Bansree Parikh
Secretary -Catherine Pritchett
Treasurer -Frank Zabaleta.

Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs:
Economic Development -Dan Schenkel, Chair
Education – Elizabeth Romero, Chair
Environment – Ken Coate, Chair
Health Care – Dan Murphy, Chair

History – Billl Lemann, Chair
Judiciary – Bill Lemann, Chair
Legislative -Miguel Mendoza, Chair
Transportation -Mike Burrows, Chair
Leadership/Personnel -Kevin Dyerly Chair
Appointments -Fran Inman, Chair
Membership -Kristine Scott, Chair
Motion by D. Roberts/Second/Passed: Elect the 2023 Board of Officers and Committee Chairs as presented.

Newly appointed Chair, Kevin Dyerly, expressed great appreciation for Lowell Kings leadership and mentorship during his tenure.  Members were reminded that federal papers are due no later than January 26, 2023 ,to comply with requests for meeting in Washington, D.C.

Committee members went to their respective virtual meeting rooms to discuss 2023 Federal advocacy issues.

Meeting adjourned at 8:00 a.m.